Categories
Uncategorized

Is My Skin Colour Wrong?

The skin, the shade, dark or black,
Why? Is the blood running through my veins different from yours?
Why? Does being around me release demons?
Why? Does touching me produce dirt and grime on your body?
Why? Do our bodies function differently?Yours, ok & mine, awkwardly?
What makes me different from you?
Do you know what black stand for?
What is there to having that shade of lighter skin?
Black is bold, black is beautiful, black is bae, black is breathtaking.
Black is strength, black is power, black is authority, black is exuberance, black is fierce, black is refined, black is fire, black is passion, black is dangerous.
Without black, there’s no hope. For with it, can one know and understand the light that follows, & so cherished.
Black is me, black is them,
For with us, we are a raging storm,
Capable of scattering you up.
We are the attitude, and we are the class, with a topping of grace.
We just well behaved, with a spreading of humility, which makes you people think you can lord it over us.

-Silverlady
-11/10/2018
-23:56

(I wrote this poem after watching the trailer of the movie, ‘The Hate You Give’. We in Africa are in our comfort zones, so we don’t know what’s really happening with our fellow Africans out there. I was inspired by just the trailer to write this. Hope you enjoyed the poem.)

Leave a comment